My novel: Work-in-Progress- Between the Worlds

Beautiful View

Merry meet all,

I’m going to talk about my novel work-in-progress, Between the Worlds. I have worked hard on it for the last three years. The novel is about a grieving women who struggles to solve the mystery of a ghost’s death despite opposition from some of the local townspeople. The picture you see above is where I set the story. 

I am fascinated with the paranormal. Am I alone here? I think not. So this story is the product of my fascination with all things paranormal. I have read all kinds of books including fiction and nonfiction, reviewed web sites, blogs, and embarked on a local ghost tour of my hometown. I studied Psychic and Spiritual Development with the Spiritual Science Fellowship and successfully completed the course. 

I set the book in Pleasant Bay, which is located in the beautiful Cape Breton Highlands National Park, in Cape Breton, Canada. I grew up there and have family and land there. I visit as often as I can. I have recently returned from a short stay there. If you want to read more about my visit, you can view my other parent blog at http://heddyjohannesen.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/trip-to-the-wind-swept-bay/

The fishing community of Pleasant Bay lends itself nicely to a ghost story. The windswept moors and cliffs and creaking old houses. I think it’s perfect for a ghost story. There is a beautiful view of the ocean and the ancient majestic mountains. It’s like something out of Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. 

I based the novel on a historical event that actually occurred in 1947 there. A Great Fire raged and nearly burned the entire town to ashes. A few campers neglected to put out the fire that sparked and burned down a church and some homes. Everyone fled to the beach. So my book is based on that event. I did some research and I also had the benefit of having grown up in Pleasant Bay. 

My grandparents’ wedding was actually interrupted due to the Great Fire. Everyone fled to the beach for their safety. The Great Fire happened in August 1947. A hot summer didn’t help to prevent the fire. In the middle of the night, it was bright as daylight as the firemen struggled to stop the fire. Imagine! 

I have some notes on what my grandmother’s life was like then. It helped me to be more realistic in the novel. Tomorrow I will tell you about the characters. 

Blessed be, Lady Spiderwitch 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

