Crows

Crow3

Merry meet all,

I just got my copy of the latest issue of Witches  & Pagans magazine via snail mail. I don’t know if an owl delivered the magazine to my mailbox, but I like to tell myself that. It is more fun to think it did. Btw, the magazine was great, as it always is. 

Last night, I watched The Crow. That was an excellent movie. I saw the movie years ago and it was fun to watch again. Crows are fascinating birds. Candace Savage wrote an excellent book about crows, rooks and magpies titled Bird Brains. I own and love the book. 

Crows are viewed as messengers, and believed to carry some souls to the land of the dead. They are intelligent and cunning. They use tools, build nests, recognize people, dive bomb people, and are great hunters. They are not be messed with. 

I don’t mind crows. I have always been in the company of crows. I would find it odd to not be in a crow’s company. They even once warned me of a death. They hounded me, squawked, and followed me everywhere for a few weeks. I was unnerved and offered them gifts. No. They would not be swayed, although I am sure they liked the silvery pretties I left for them. Finally, my guinea pig Minerva passed away and they stopped their activity. I was amazed. How could the crows have known my pet would die?

Now, if the crows fly near me, I worry. Is it another auspicious sign? I have a harder time determining it all. Time will tell. We can learn much if we choose to be kind and open-minded. “If men had wings and bore black feathers, few of them would be clever enough to be crows.” Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, MID-1800S. 

Now every time a crow flies nearby or caws at you from a tree’s shelter, don’t fret. Just greet the crow and keep walking. You may make a friend. 

Blessed Be,

Lady Spiderwitch )O(

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

