Animal Spirits

MagickJPG

Merry meet all,

As I type, my pet guinea pig, who is the epitome of a rascal, is playing in the big cage today. He has a bottomless appetite and is absolutely adorable. He’s my awesome little animal familiar. 

In my novel, Between the Worlds, Rosemary Bell has a furry animal familiar too. She has a pet Siamese cat named Siam. Siam is cute and every inch a cat. An animal familiar helps a Witch to perform his or her magick. Animal familiars appear in the famous poem by Shakespeare in the play Macbeth. It’s Siam who helps Rosemary realize her home is haunted by the ghost of Jonathan Fraser. 

Cats sense energies and spirits. It’s one of the reasons why I created Siam. They can see things that people can’t see. Cats are very sensitive to certain things, and they are so intelligent and adorable. 

Here is a beautiful photo of a bobcat in Pleasant Bay: 

bobcat1 He may be hard to spot, because he camouflages so well but he is there. He was so beautiful, powerful and graceful. I am lucky to see that. The bobcat appeared then returned to hunting mice, voles and rats. 

It is cats’ supposed sensitivity to spirits that is one of the main reasons why I included Siam in the book. There is a theory that if you look between the ears of a cat where the cat is looking that you can see the ghost that the cat can see. I am tempted to test this theory. I promise to let you all know how it goes. 

A friend of mine performed a smudging ritual on my home the other night. I apparently have mischievous imps in my home. That explains the small dark things I sometimes see out of the corner of my eye. They are not evil, just full of mischief. My magick practice may have attracted them. Stefan and I used a lemon, water, salt and sweetgrass. After he left, I felt uneasy but now the energy has settled. I wish I had a cat in here while performing the smudging. I saw an imp while Stefan was here and it would have been cool to see how a cat would react. 

I have even seen the ghosts of my pets after they have passed. No kidding. My pet guinea pig Twotone died of malocclusion sadly. I was sitting on my bed bawling my heart out when she appeared. I saw her clear as day. She seemed to be so serene. I heard beautiful harp like music. She appeared to me in a flash and didn’t want me to grieve. She was saying goodbye. I sat there for a long time waiting for her to reappear. Nope. 

Animals are very special, be they dog, guinea pig or cat. They all have a special place in our hearts. There is way more kindness shown to animals in the world today. They deserve all the love they can get. I plan to adopt a kitten in the future. For now, Magic is getting all the love and attention he could ask for. 

Blessed Be, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

