Story of the Paranormal

Beautiful View

Merry meet all,

 Now that you are more familiar with this amazing tiny fishing village and all it has to offer, I am going to focus more on the story itself and show more of how it relates to the town. Pleasant Bay is where I spent most of my life. So naturally I would be inspired to write a story there. I am the first one to do set a novel there. I felt that a lot of the same old folklore had been told about the ghost stories in Halifax. We needed a new transfusion. I hope this novel is that transfusion. 

I have nothing against the local folklore. It is great but it is the same tired story every time. That is also one reason why I wrote this story. I wanted to tell something fresh and new. I didn’t know I had this story: the plot, the characters, in me. It came as a total shock to me. I never planned it. 

The story came to me as a flash of inspiration. In my mind for some reason, I pictured a woman running from a ghost in a house in Cape Breton then I sat down to figure out why I had that image in my head. Two years, lots of coffee and thought, and some drafts later, here I am. 

I am happy with the way it is going. I still have some kinks to work out but that is the trial of an author. It’s a good problem to have. Like having 50 books in your personal library but you try to have time to get to them. Like I do. 

The paranormal is a hot topic today. My story deals heavily with the paranormal. You can’t take the ghost out of the story. Or there is no story. Yes my ghost (Jonathan Fraser) has something to say. So I let him have his day. I don’t know why it is such a hot topic right now but it’s cool. A shift in the global community perspective? I can’t think of the word right now that I want but I think you’ll know what I mean. I know people seek fantasy for an escape. It’s hard to say why the paranormal is so hot right now. 

Magic, witchcraft and Wicca are of course, very popular right now too and I hope it stays that way for years to come. That is also another important part of the story. Rosemary uses magic to help her solve the ghost’s death mystery. She also uses magic to deal with, converse with, and learn more about the ghost. She uses a magic candleholder that can ignite without a match or lighter when she says magic words.

 

The ghost Jonathan Fraser haunts the basement of the house. He hides a horrifying secret and it is up to Rosemary to discover through the course of the novel just what is hidden in the basement. Why the leaking water drips on the floor and why something hard and white is starting to show through the floorboards. Will she find out in time? 

The freedom  an author has…. it’s seductive. There are so many ways to tell stories and so many ways to write them. If you don’t believe me, then browse the shelves of your local bookstore and you’ll see what I mean. 

I just think that, and this is just my opinion, that unlike strictly literary fiction, you have so much more freedom within the genre to write a certain genre paranormal story. I think any author can write something special. I love my story and I know I have to work on it, but to have discovered this story was within me was an eye-opener!!!

Stay posted. 

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

