The Birthday of a Giant- Tolkien

CIMG1207

Merry meet all,

Yesterday, January 3 marked the birthday of a literary giant- Tolkien. I am an avid Tolkien fan. Naturally, I had to post this here. I love his books The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings trilogy. There is no other fantasy story that can compare to it. None. He has never been beaten. So celebrate with some elf bread and hobbit ale!!!

I wish I lived in Middle-Earth. I would just have to get real good at slaying orcs, battle dragons, and be able to combat whatever other dangers lurked out there. I think though, that I will curl up in my hobbit hole, sip coffee, and work on my own literary masterpiece here. I am not trying to be Tolkien but if he doesn’t inspire you to work harder at a passion, what will? I LOVE the movies too. I think the movies more than just did the stories justice. Thanks to the movies, I can now more easily picture everything the way it would have been. I love the movies so much. I have seen them a million times. I have to reread The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings and the Silmarillion. I have a beautiful small book of the poetry from the Lord of the Rings. It is beautifully illustrated by Alan Lee. I also own a hardcover copy of The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings. I have to reread them now. I have lots of time. 

The ending to the third and final Hobbit movie shocked me. While I found most of the movie to be violent and scary and fast, the ending was slow and well-done. I had to reread the ending in the book which was close to how it happened in the movie but I cried. I cried because Thorin Oakenshield sacrificed himself to kill the Azog. Bad Azog!! lol

So let us take a moment to acknowledge the gift left by Tolkien and the movies too. Hmm I think I’d like to take a Gaelic-speaking course now. Tolkien was a linguist.!! I know a little Gaelic but it would be cool to learn more. I am sure by now you can all tell I am a huge fan. If I had my choice of a place to live in Middle-Earth, it would be the Shire followed by Rivendell. 

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

