A time to Remember

1560563_481092325334220_1390160152_n

There is a debate in the Wiccan Pagan witchy community about whether people should honor the dead only on Samhain or all through the year. I say if you are serious enough in your intent, and truly want to honor your ancestors, you should be doing just that all year. 

They are around us all year, not just on October 31st. To think  they are only here on October 31st is actually ridiculous. When I dined at the Five Fishermen restaurant, the waiter asked me if the spirits are around only on October 3st. First of all, he worked there. The staff at that restaurant work there all year. They are making money off of the restaurant’s reputation for being haunted. They have seen paranormal activity all year. I told him that no, they are always around. They are dead. They have eternity. Honoring the dead can and should be performed all year. 

I keep a photo of my late grandfather and my raccoon skull Bandit on  my altar every day of the year. I might change the rest of my altar to honor the changes in the Wheel of the Year but that never changes. The photo and skull are always on the altar. I have wanted to start a separate altar just for that purpose but right now, I am limited by space. My familiar cat likes to nap on or beneath my altar. She likes the energy and the space. 

I am attending Christopher Penczak’s workshop The Mighty Dead in September. I look forward to the event. I plan to post here all about it. It is a weekend intensive workshop. I hope to attend the book signing too. 

I know the veil is thin at Samhain but there are books that has helpful information on how to honor your ancestors. Christen Day’s book The Witches Book of the Dead and Penczak’s book The Mighty Dead illustrate how to do this all year. 

You will deepen your relationship with your chosen deities/ ancestors/ god or goddess. This can benefit you because they can help you with love, work, protection. Be respectful always. I heard of someone who called a spirit a bitch after summoning the spirit from an Ouija board. Never do this. If you disrespect the spirit, you will be bombasted with negative things. If you honor them respectfully, you will get good energy. Always remember: Retribution is a pretty word for karma. You get what you send out. 

I also don’t suggest using Ouija boards until you know what you are doing. But don’t approach one with fear either. Be strong and confident and sure you are ready for this. Never be alone if you want to use an Ouija board, be sure to have a trusted friend with you in case things get out of hand. 

Believe they are real, believe they are there for you- the good ones, all year round, that you can honor them all year, and that they may even aid you in life, and you will enrich your spiritual practice and deepen your relationship with them. 

Blessed Be,

Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

