October’s Seduction

Cemetery

Merry meet all,

Magic is in the air!! it’s mid-October. To hell with naysayers, I so did wear my black cloak to the grocery store tonight. I don’t care what people think. I have always believed I should express my self and that cloaks shield you better from the elements. It began raining as soon as I arrived home, but I would have been dry. The cloak was made of wool. 

The moon’s waxing now, turning to full by October’s end. I am always sad at the end of October. To me, I cherish October more than anything in the world. Its such a sensual lively seductive month. I am reminded of the carnival in Something Wicked this way comes by Bradbury. I almost want to surrender to the horrors of the carnival. Almost. October seduces us gently and darkly. We give in because we relish it. 

I am going to go old school this October. I want to honor traditions, not just dumb supper. It was tradition to carve turnips long before pumpkins. I am going to do both. But since I have witnessed a Shadow person in my hone and so I see a need to set up a protection. If the carved turnips scares me, it may scare unwelcome spectral visitors. So the goal may be achieved! I will let you know how it goes. 

I am enjoying Samhain as a solitary but I am not alone. Spirit is with me, especially at this time of year. I’ve lit a pumpkin spice candle. I have completed a big project. 

I have sewed myself a witch’s gown. It’s made of knit and all black (of course!) I used the Arwen style full length gown and long draping sleeves. I love the dress. I put a lot of care into sewing it, no matter how tired and weary I was as I made it. I wanted it to be beautiful. I can wear the black lace corset with the gown! I wanted the dress to lace up the front originally but the material I chose for the dress could never support the lacing up. That is why I have the separate corset. A photo of the gown:

gown2

In that photo, I didn’t sew on the collar, hem the gown or wear the black lace corset but you get the general idea. I am proud of the gown. The sleeves are also lined now. I will wear this dress a lot. Yes, quite often. I plan to wear it to the Witches Ball. I want to be the Death card from the major arcana of the tarot. It is appropriate for this time of the year. That is the theme for costumes. I bought a black stemmed rose, white face paint, and black lipstick. I have a black cloak or spider cape and a spider shawl. All I need is a fake scythe and I am all set. Not real, of course. I love my gown and black boots to wear with it too. Now for those striped socks …

With October, comes Hollywood’s fascination with horror movies. I saw Crimson Peak last night. I sat there, horrified, through most of the movie. The movie was well done, I am already in love with Tom Hiddleston, and the woman who played the deranged sister was beyond excellent in her acting skills. The house was amazing. But I could hardly handle the gore or the violence. I visibly squirmed. I wasn’t expecting that much gore and violence. The gore I actually handled better than seeing people stabbed and slashed to death. I love Gothic horrors though. I am an Edgar Allan Poe fan. 

So light your candles, and dust off your cauldrons. Samhain is here!!

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

