My romance with Death

CIMG2561

Merry meet all,

To most enthusiasts of Wicca, witchcraft, horror fans and fans of the paranormal, Halloween holds a seductive irresistible spell over us. It does for me. I walk along the nature trail, in awe of the splendour of the autumn trees. I marvel at the plethora of pumpkins and the flavour of the roasted seeds. We crave hearty soups and feel the early chill in the air. October is not long enough. 

My family has accused me of being macabre all my life. I don’t fit in with them nor the zombies in the school halls. I was always an outcast, a loner, but it didn’t bother me. I love to read Wollstonecraft and Poe. I like the more classic horror fiction. I have an adult literary pop-up book of Edgar Allan Poe’s works and a more formal gilt edged hardcover illustrated classic style book of his writings. I have skulls, bats, witches, gargoyles, dragons and cauldrons. 

I guess I never feared the dark, I like walking on a shadowy street and fancying that I can blend in the shadows as smoothly as a  vampire can. I don’t fear bats that fly in my hair. I spare spiders and have always regarded them as my totem insect. Crows follow me around. I leave offerings in my garden. Heck, I even offered live crickets to the lady’s bearded dragons who lived above me. She keeps bearded dragons who ate the crickets- alive. Well power to them. I stare at the moon. I published a flash fiction story about a child munching pumpkin. (I love kids. I really do.)

Yup I’m weird. But maybe no more unusual than anyone else. I am always sad at the end of October. It is like the bittersweet flavour of a ripe apple. Sour but sweet. I am fascinated by the paranormal. Well I started this blog obviously, or maybe it is because I, like most people, want to know what happens to us after death. We seek answers to an unanswerable question. We would have to come back from death to tell everyone what it was like and that is impossible. 

I have enjoyed reading more about how other cultures view Death. I read a book titled Memento Mori about death and several other excellent titles such as Witches Book of the Dead by Christian Day, The Mighty Dead by Penczak, Goth Craft by Raven Digitalis and The Ghost Hunters Survival Guide by Belanger. 

Despite all this preoccupation with death, I do view life a certain way. Yes I like this stuff but I strive to maintain a balance in life. I love nice sunny days, gardening, my pets, and food. I love nature trails and hikes, herbalism, and sharing food with people. A balance is crucial to your health mentally, physically, and spiritually. 

I don’t believe in just focusing on the white goddesses or white light goddesses. How can you omit Hekate, Kali, Persephone or Bast? The Morrigan? To do that, is, to me, to dishonour them and to not appreciate the full aspects of the Goddess or life. Life is light and dark but should be in a harmony, a balance. I don’t like that I won’t see my garden for 5 to 6 months of the year but I know spring always returns- and I bought spring bulbs! I have to wait till the soil is cold enough for them to be planted. 

So I guess I express fears, inspirations etc through my writing. I wish you all a wonderful October and a magickal Samhain. 

Blessed Be, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

