Horror and Religion )O(

skull+crow

Merry meet all,

The long-awaited news!!! The anthology Wax and Wane: A Gathering of Witch Tales is finally released!!! You can  find the link to Amazon in the previous post. Fly on your broomsticks and buy a copy!!! Let some magick into your life with these spell-binding stories. The book is also available on Kindle, Mobi and ePub.

I saw The Witch movie recently. At first, the movie frightened me so badly I crashed at my Mom’s. Now that I think about it, I don’t hate it and I also initially didn’t believe that Thomasin, a character from the film, was liberated by joining the diabolical Devil’s coven but if you look at it from that context, she was liberated. There are a few ways to look at this. But mainly the movie was from the mindset of the Puritan Calvinism back then. If they actually believed all that stuff, then I think they were mentally fucked. Sorry for the language. I found parts of the movie disturbing and upsetting. I did enjoy the authentic cinematography and the black goat stole the show. When I shifted my perspective of the movie, then I decided that I enjoyed it.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/black-phillip-real-story-behind-871974

http://www.salon.com/2016/03/06/a_final_girl_who_gets_to_get_off_the_witch_proves_nothings_scarier_than_an_unapologetically_liberated_young_woman/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=socialflow

I hope you enjoy the above links.  The Witch movie raises the bar for horror movies. Religion and horror have always worked together well in movies and fiction and will continue to in the future. Take The Exorcist or Rosemary’s Baby as examples.

To be a Witch is to be liberated. So now I don’t hate the movie. It delivered a potent message. But we don’t worship the Devil. I don’t anyway. I own an animal skull and I do admit I want to own a real human skull but I might buy a resin skull (within my budget). I can program and empower it to do things for me. I honor my ancestors but I don’t take it to a negative level. I practice in my own way and feel comfortable with that. It’s important to maintain a balance in life.

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

