Witchy news

adarkinspiration

Merry meet all,

Great news!

I won a novel from the publishing company Dark Regions Press last fall. It was a long wait to receive the book but I don’t have to wait much longer. The novel is The Night Show by the esteemed late author Richard Laymon. I can’t wait to have it!! I shall keep my eyes peeled on my snail mail/ owl mail box. 

My poem about ‘Hecate’ will be published in the upcoming anthology ‘The Dark Ones: Tales and Poems of the Shadow Gods’ published by Bibliotheca Alexandrina. My other poem, a children’s poem,  A Saw Bug’s Toil, will be published in the children’s’ poetry anthology Whispers of Mermaids and Wonderful Things by Nimbus Publishing. OK Nimbus Publishing is the top premier publishing company in Atlantic Canada! This is a real awesome forward movement for my writing career. So this is good news. 

My gothy Halloween tree aptly named Skellington now doesn’t glow. I am not happy about that. The minute it was spring, the tree lights stopped glowing. I am bummed out. I will buy new lights in October. 

I just finished reading two fascinating books about the -what else?, the paranormal! The first one that I just devoured like chocolate cake- well, they both tasted good, was Summoning Spirits by Konstantinos and the second book was Bloody Mary’s Guide to Hauntings, Horrors and Dancing with the Dead. Her book focuses on the ghosts and spirits of New Orleans. I couldn’t put the book down. I also loved the other book. I plan to try the meditations and exercises in Konstantinos’ book. Oh yeah for sure. I love anything to do with the paranormal. Which brings me to my next topic. 

Did anyone see the The Witch movie? I hated it and don’t wish to see it again. I am not at all about to sign my name in the Devil’s book. Nope. We witches don’t do that stuff. That is what they believe. But that doesn’t make it true. 

However, I just want to say that that movie hit home on a few levels. If you read my earliest posts, I know what it is like to grow up with depending on a wood stove for survival. I know about gathering wood, seasoning it, and drying it. I know how to use a woodstove. I know what it is like to be isolated in the woods at nature’s mercy. 

I also know a lot about witchcraft. Only someone who has been through what I have been through can possibly understand what it is like to survive in the woods. I have been forced to be dependent on having enough wood, enough heat, and to grow food to eat. IfI had to live in the woods on my own, I could do it. Most people are clueless. I have seen wildlife and watched a family butcher a chicken. I have seen my brother gut a big fish. I have gone fishing, horseback riding, and survived being stranded in Pleasant Bay because the roads were too icy to drive on. Don’t even get me started on the cabin fever. 

That is why the movie affected me strongly. I have been there. I know what it is like to be there. There was no diabolical goat to tempt me into signing my name into the black book. No, but we had herds of moose that trotted onto our front decks! 

I don’t like the movie but I thought it would be cool to share what I said above. That isn’t what witchcraft as we know it is about. 

Hopefully someday Hollywood will get it right

Spooky blessings, Lady Spiderwitch 

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

