Herb Gardening

HERBS1

Merry meet all,

Recently I bought a white skull candle, skeleton keys, a new smudge stick, black candles, and a book all about the magnificent Goddess Hekate. I can’t wait to read the book. I have so many to read but it is on my list. I did just finish reading the book The Witches’ Ointment by Hastis. I couldn’t put the book down. I do recommend the book if you have ever wanted to know the story behind witches ointments in history. 

My garden is beautiful and getting full. Yesterday I planted my new morning glory seeds, moonflower and nasturtium seeds. Most of the perennials are growing now.  I planted oregano, sage, thyme, chamomile and basil. I do plan to use a little bit of the herbs for magic or mundane purposes. My lavender and sage didn’t survive the winter. So I have to buy another lavender. I guess I should overwinter the lavender indoors. The parsley survived the winter indoors. Parsley is a masculine plant, ruled by the Air Element, and its ruling planet is Mercury. Parsley is associated with purification and protection and in some cases with death and evil. The herbs are planted where they will receive full sun. 

Herbs are an important part of magic. They can be prepared so many ways and for so many different intentions. Herbs have been used in magic for millenia. I hope you all find a way to use herbs in magic, whether that be in tinctures or other potions. Now is the time to start your own herb seedlings, whatever type of herb you choose to grow. 

If you do buy herb seedlings, go with your instincts when selecting them. I had a hard time deciding between two kinds of thyme. I stood there for a few minutes debating which one to adopt. In the end, I decided on silver thyme. Pick healthy herbs and have your spot in the garden all ready for them once you get your herbs home. Remember to water and fertilize the herbs and remove any stones before planting. We underestimate a plant’s root system because often we never see the roots. It is OK to spread the plant roots just prior to planting. You can add crystals to the hole where you are planting the herb/s for a burst of good energy. Bless the plant after planting it. To learn how to work more magickally with your plant, read Plant Spirit Familiar by Christopher Penczak. Lastly, do appreciate the beauty of the herbs. If you let them flower, it will attract bees. Don’t use any pesticides! That kills off the beneficial insects. Pests develop a resistance to the chemicals. Like it or not, insects will make your garden their home, their playground! So accept it and learn to work with energies, faeries, insects, what have you because they will soon trust you and depend on you. 

You provide a shelter, a habitat when you start a garden. A doe and a raccoon have visited my yard. Countless insects have made their home in my garden. I let them be. They – most of them, except for slugs, help my plants grow. Pesticides would destroy all that. If you see eggs on a plant, rinse them off with soapy dish soap and water. Try using copper wire or egg shells to deter pests or grow nasturtiums. Try natural strategies for controlling pests. The best defence really is healthy plants. Healthy plants resist disease and pests. Take good care of your herb garden. 

With all this work, you should have a happy thriving garden (or ecosystem). Whether you prefer a traditional herb garden or a Goth garden, they all require care. Try the above methods listed and you should have success. Good luck gardening!

Gpth Garden

Blessings, Lady Spiderwitch )O(

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal and Witchy Fiction

Leave a Reply

